Japanese or French Women Don’t Get Fat (or Old)

October 3, 2009

Picture 1

I started off by reading French Women Don’t Get Fat and subsequently doing the Magical Leek Diet. I loved it so much that I read French Women For All Seasons as well. Both books introduced to me some great new recipes (I wasn’t really that into French cooking at first) that are super easy to make. And also re-introduced me to the wonderful Leek.

Picture 2

My past birthday, my mom got me Japanest Women Don’t Get Old or Fat (Take that, French Women!). Though the principles are the same – eat foods within seasons, incorporate lots of veggies and fish and don’t don’t don’t binge on American food, the recipes are totally different. The similarities in both books are almost spooky. Both women grew up eating their mothers home cooking, went away and spent some time in the US and came back home only to be told, YOU GOT FAT!

Ironically, they didn’t even try to lose weight – they just ate their normal food and pounds started to shed quickly. Wow.

I could relate to the Japanese Women Don’t Get Old or Fat more easily because I love Japanese food. I’m not talking about sushi (although I could eat that everyday). I’m talking about Rice Balls, Salmon, Miso Soup, Sauteed Veggies, Kale, Seaweed, Pickled Veggies. YUM.

Both books are a great read and not only are they funny and witty, they present a ton of great recipes. I would recommend both!

Leave a Reply

