Summer Trends…. UGH is it really a trend?

August 15, 2008

Please help me decide what trends are actually going to work this summer. I see all kinds of crazy stuff around NYC and some of it I love, most I hate (and I guess this really tells a lot about my fashion sense.) What’s in? What’s out? HELP! Leave me a comment!

1. Lace – Lace tops, lace dresses… lace embellishments. Oh and by the way, does that mean that you can get away without wearing anything underneath?? I certainly would feel weird walking out without something solid under a lace top, but that’s just me.

2. Pastel Colors – I have dark olive skin and to tell you the truth, pastels look horrid on me. I’m not saying they look bad on everyone but is this really a trend? I feel like I’m a 5 year old when I wear pastel colors. Although this yellow color is beautiful. Anyone else feel this way?

3. The color purple – Some people say purple is the new pink. Take it as you will, I still love pink…. things. I’d never wear the color pink because it looks bad on me and I actually like the purple trend. Well, dark purple. Like I said, pastels look bad on me. Yay for plum purple outfits.

4. Gladiator Sandals – UGH I hate these. They look so freakin weird. Maybe they’d look better if they weren’t so freakishly tall. And what kind of tan lines do you get from wearing these!?! Please tell me this trend is going to go away… forever.

Are there any trends I’m missing? (I hope!) Let me know in the comments! Which trends to you love/hate?

5 Responses to “Summer Trends…. UGH is it really a trend?”

  1. Poster Girl Says:

    Of the ones you listed, purple is my favorite. I plan on wearing dark violet this fall as a substitute for black.


  2. Lately I have been seeing a ton of high-wasted pencil skirts. I own one and I’m hit or miss on it. I mean sometimes they look awesome, other times I’m like ‘woah calm down sista’. I think it depends on whether or not they have a belly.

    Although I suppose that would be more of a fall look, I’ve seen it all summer (high waste shorts too!)

  3. Charlotte Says:

    Lace is all right if wearing something like a top or so under a lace dress. I think, Britney’s idea is sexy, but not stylish. Great post!

  4. jane doe Says:

    i LOVE gladiator sandals! i mean some ppl can pull it off and some can’t but that doesn’t mean you hate on them! they are gorgeous and can look amazing on certain ppl! for example mary kate O. shes looks great! honestly i don’t have skinny legs! i have way to much “muscle” on my legs to wear tall gladiator sandals! but overall they are BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. fashion_beautify Says:

    Gladiator sandals are in, you should learn to love them, they’re going to stay.
    Stupid wog.


Leave a Reply

