I need a new tote bag.

April 4, 2008

10326010.jpeg10326060.jpeg

I think I need a new tote bag for the summer. Plain and simple. After regretfully buying many cheap $20 tote bags, I’ve finally come to the realization that I want a tote bag that’s soft, has a lot of pockets, fun and bright and has straps that are long enough to fit my arm through comfortably (with extra room). I searched and searched and I’ve come back to the  by Vera Bradley. I love this color and I love this bag. I’m just not sure that I want to spend $72 bucks on this bag. Does anyone have any reviews on this bag? Is it a good one? Does it last long? Which color do you prefer!?

Thanks for making my shopping experience easier.

6 Responses to “I need a new tote bag.”

  1. slfrye Says:

    Vera Bradley bags are actually quite high quality. My mother has been buying them for years. They seem to be addictive. I feed her habit now and pick them up for her as I travel.

    I’m sure that you know that you can get every accessory under the sun in the same pattern including dog leashes, eye glasses cases, and journals. The fabric is incredibly soft, they usually wash up pretty well, etc.

    My only comments are that they are kind of uptight preppy and that, well, my mother (who’s 58) loves them. So, draw your own conclusions for that. I’d also reccommend ebay for them. You can usually shave $10 to $20 off the price if you are lucky. I like the red best. The turquoise/brown is a little played.

    BTW, have you checked the LLBean canvas monogrammed tote? That’s a classic preppy look in the best way. Good luck and happy shopping!

  2. marta Says:

    They have some nice ones at zappos. I like the first one.

  3. teresa Says:

    Vera Bradley bags have been around forever, and they last about that long too. My grandmother has a couple of them, and they’ve lasted well.
    I don’t tell you this because I am cautioning you away from them, only that I know they last long. It doesn’t matter how old or young other purchasers are, so long as you rock it. If it fits your style, I’m sure you’ll love it.

  4. urbanupdater Says:

    Yeah I really like the Vera Bradley bags… so what if people think they are old. They are really durable and they look cute. Ah.. the searching continues. Thanks for the comments.

  5. Sharon Says:

    Here’s my advice about the Vera Bradley bags. Do your very best not to put them in the laundry! I’ve had several bags and each of my 3 dghts have the duffle to take on sleepovers. They’ve held up great but once I spilled something in my duffle and washed it….the color faded and it was never the same. 😦
    BTW, I like the teal one better.
    welcome to the club!

  6. Pat Wagoner Says:

    Ihave had several and still do. I have washed them several times and just like new. In fact, I have passed several to daughters and they have used for several years. I am a grandmother and love them. I like the bigger ones just wish the new ones didn’t have zippers.


Leave a Reply

