Fake Purses…Brilliant? or Busted?

January 31, 2007

realcoach.jpgfake-coach.jpg

I went shopping in Chinatown this past weekend for fake (but real) looking purses. My friend had gone there the previous week and said that they had great deals. I decided to check it out for myself. After browsing shady (and by shady, I mean REALLY shady) stores….left empty handed. I did leave Chinatown with a handful of knowledge and a great experience.

First off, the “good” fakes aren’t anywhere you can see. (I use the term ‘good’ loosely because they really aren’t that great). You get pulled into a store into a hidden passageway where you are crammed into a small hidden room in the back with the designer fakes. Either that, or you follow someone down a deserted street into a basement 2 floors down to look at the purses. I did both. All the purses are the same. In my opinion they were bad fakes and I would never buy one. The leather looks fake, the straps are unrealistic and obviously not even close to the real thing.

But then I realized.. is it quality or quantity?

2 Responses to “Fake Purses…Brilliant? or Busted?”

  1. Raych Says:

    I personally think it depends on the brand. I don’t think a crappy Coach knockoff is worth it. But if I saw a decent Gucci knockoff for about 100 bucks, I’d totally go for it. Spending more than a grand on a purse with my own money seems a little tough considering I don’t even work that much resulting to small paychecks.

    But to answer your question, having a lot of ‘designer’ tacky bags is not worth it. I rather have one expensive purse I lug around everyday.

  2. David Says:

    Well, you pay for what you get and sometimes even if it does not match or the quality is a bit off its still a great bag or jacket. IMO


Leave a Reply

